A ‘new’ home

Well, guess I’m not just moving actual homes in the next six months.  Here I am, with a ‘new’ blog home.  I use the ‘new’, because I actually set this blog up in January when I was having Blogger issues.  Glad I didn’t delete it.  It took little work to get it up and better running, with all blog posts and comments through this morning, imported here.  But here we are.  🙂

I know some of you might think this is a rash decision.  Well, I agree!  It IS rash.  But morally, after a good night’s sleep, and reviewing my principles this morning by the light of day, it’s just something I felt I needed to do for myself to feel right about myself.

I understand that companies might financially contribute to campaigns.  I have no idea what wordpress.com might be contributing to.  Although I’m an unabashedly liberal, I wouldn’t have made this move for a mere Republican contribution.  I DO make this move because of a contribution to a candidate that made an extremely offensive statement, then ‘double-downed’ on it, when confronted…and then, ONLY THEN, did Google actually contribute to her campaign.  THAT is what I take huge offense to.  I won’t squabble over the semantics of ‘public hangings’ vs. lynchings.  She lives in Mississippi.  In my opinion, the moment she was confronted by those outraged about her statement (and it was nationally reported on), she could’ve taken a high road and said she was misunderstood.  That she didn’t mean it the way it came out.  But she chose to not take that path.  So I really see no way to take it as anything other than an extremely racist statement.  Especially given that her political opponent is a black man.  And no way to see Google’s contribution AFTER this statement was widely made public…then their having no problem with her statement.  Yes, Google has created their own “PAC” to allow Google employees to contribute to political causes of their choice.   This is not what this was.  This was Google the company making the contribution.

ANYHOW, onward and upward.  I’m here.  It’s going to take some getting used to.  If you are kind enough to continue following me here, please set your bookmarks for me here, and I would be especially grateful if you could change your blogroll settings for me to point to this different url.  THANK YOU.

Meanwhile, my new laptop is quietly charging next to me.  But I’m not going to putz with it today.  I have to go out later and get paint, and frankly, this blog move is all the ‘change’ I can take for one day.

Thank you for your patience, for your support.  I really appreciate it.  I have also changed my email address, my web browser, but for any of you staying with Blogger, of course I will continue to support you by following you and commenting on your blogs.  Nothing about that will change.  🙂

 

22 thoughts on “A ‘new’ home

  1. Lynda

    I love that you feel so strongly about racist remarks – there seems to be so much allowance for this now under your present leader. But hey, “he’s the least racist person you’ll ever meet”. mmmm… sure.

    Like

    1. Silver Willow Post author

      Exactly! And he surrounds himself with only ‘the best people.’ What a joke.
      I’m very, very sensitive about racism. My dad was raised a Baptist, from Oklahoma. Racism was natural for him. I still catch my mom saying a few insensitive things, even though she loves my Filipino husband. My dad is probably rolling in his grave over my husband, but he’s the very best person I know. 🙂 Thanks for being here!

      Like

  2. Lynda

    Wow, to come from a father who was racist to being the opposite is fantastic. I don’t tolerate racism in any part of my life and I’m so glad that my children are the same. Thankfully my son-in-law is in agreement too because it would be dreadful for my grandsons to be brought up with a racist attitude. They don’t see colour at all and I love that.

    Like

    1. Silver Willow Post author

      that’s fantastic! Hey, it wasn’t just racism with dad. He and mom both swore they wouldn’t attend my first wedding, because my white fiance was :: horror :: CATHOLIC. Of course, by then Dad had switched to Agnostic. Whatever. They did end up attending. Dad also became an alcoholic, then a recovered alcoholic.

      Ancient history. But I’m very sensitive to race. Always have been.

      Like

    1. Silver Willow Post author

      thank you so much! I really like the ‘look’ better here. My commenting on other’s blogs has been a bit of a problem, though…

      Like

  3. Stacy McKitrick

    Got you switched on my blog list (on my blog). Sorry you couldn’t comment on my blog. I will be making changes to the comments tonight (I hope, if I remember!), when I post tomorrow’s blog (I hope, if I remember!!). 🙂

    Like

  4. nance

    I’ve been trying to switch over to WordPress for a week now and have been having a helluva time. It’s not very intuitive, and its features are limited. I wish you lived in NEO and could help me out! Your transition looks seamless.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Silver Willow Post author

    Nance…wordpress.com is pretty easy to switch over. wordpress.org is not. I have used wordpress.org in the past, but even with over 10 years blogging experience, it was too much for me. So although .org gives you more freedom, it comes at a price (usually literally, because I had to hire someone to set it up for me, eventually) to get it going. At this point in my life, I decided I just wasn’t going to be that invested (emotionally or financially) in my blog. I’m a little ole lady, and this is just a hobby, not trying to make it a career. Although wordpress.com has some limitations, I can live with them. But thank you very much. And if you want help with .com, please email me at: silver.willow51@yahoo.com, and I’ll be happy to help as best I can. 🙂

    And thanks for being here!

    Like

Comments are closed.