a Blogger moral dilemma

U.S. Senator Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS) was caught on tape “joking” about her willingness to attend a lynching at a campaign event in November. “If he invited me to a public hanging, I’d be on the front row,” Hyde-Smith said on November 2. The small crowd responded with laughter and applause.  Her opponent is Mike Espy.  He is black.

Since the video became public on Sunday, Hyde-Smith has refused to apologize, claiming her remarks were a complement. “I used an exaggerated expression of regard, and any attempt to turn this into a negative connotation is ridiculous,” Hyde-Smith said in a statement.
One corporation that apparently was unbothered by Hyde-Smith’s remarks: Google. On Tuesday, Google donated $5000 to Hyde-Smith’s campaign, according to documents filed with the FEC.
You can read about it in this link, which includes a copy of the FEC filed document on the campaign contribution: (as well as the video of her comment about the public hanging.)…
Hyde-Smith faces Democrat Mike Espy in a run-off election on November 27. A group of ministers from the Jackson, Mississippi area called on her to apologize and resign.
At a press conference on Monday, Hyde-Smith robotically refused to answer any questions about her lynching comments. Eventually, Mississippi Governor Phil Bryant (R) intervened and attempted to deflect criticism by accusing black women of genocide.
Google previously donated $10,000 to the Making America Prosperous PAC, the leadership PAC of Congressman Kevin Brady (R-TX). Making America Prosperous gave Congressman Steve King (R-IA) a cash infusion after other corporate donors abandoned him over his ties to white nationalism.
****
Needless to say, this all INFURIATES ME.  I have changed my email from gmail to yahoo.  I no longer will use google for searches.  The dilemma that remains is this blog.  Blogger is Google owned.  Do I move my blog away from Blogger?  I have done it before.  Fully capable of it.  It’s more a nuisance for you, my readers.
Given my absolute abhorrence for anything racist, and this CERTAINLY qualifying, what do you think?  Morally, I feel I have to do it.  But I hate to lose any of you faithful readers over this.  But, I’m just MASSIVELY ANGRY at Google.
The last problem would be Chrome itself.  Do I go back to Firefox?!  Because the Chrome browser is also Google.

I’ve definitely decided to go back to Firefox.  This Blogger/Google blog is the last issue.  I’m definitely leaning towards the move.  (the blog is already in place from last January when Blogger was having issues.  I just need to update it.)

ugh.

9 thoughts on “a Blogger moral dilemma

  1. Jeanie

    I use firefox. Hate wordpress. (I have another name for it and it was almost a typo!). I don't know, Gwen. They aren't making money from us on blogger, but they do have our data. On the other hand, everyone else does too…

    Like

  2. Jean R.

    I have always used Firefox and thanks to this post, I'm going to change my preferred searches which have always been Google. Never used gmail. I'd like to know, though, if Google is also donating to Democrats…some rich people play both sides of the aisle. Probably wishful thinking on my part.

    Like

  3. Marcia

    How confident are you as to the source of this information on Google? Have you spoken to anyone at Google? Just saying this because there's lots of misinformation out there. I don't know what the answer is.

    Like

  4. Olga

    The racism that is oozing out of all corners lately is appalling to me as well. A compliment, indeed. In what universe is reference to anyone's hanging a compliment? I started a wordpress blog when I was having big problems with blogger, but I stopped using it when I noticed ads for a political candidate I would never support appearing on the site (in spite of having checked no political ads in the set up). The world is becoming way too complicated.

    Like

  5. ellen abbott

    the issue over the hanging remark, she did not say lynching, is more about a white person's insensitivity I think than outright racism. she did say hanging and public (legal) as opposed to lynching (illegal) which was usually done at night. hanging was the way capitol punishment was meted out here in this country before the electric chair and parts of Europe and they were public events. as for it being a compliment, I can see how she might construe it so though I think it's boneheaded but I wouldn't vote for her for her politics. I don't know anything about either of the two Texan politicians since they don't represent my area. that Google supports a man with ties to white nationalism, I don't know and is that the only type they support? I tried Firefox and didn't care for it, I'm too lazy to find a new platform over support for a single politician and their support may be based on other factors. just not enough information. I use gmail in a limited fashion. for some reason some emails will only come through on gmail, a friend in Canada and the local garden club. emails from those people just go into the ether and never show up in my earthlink account. if you change over post the url here if you can.

    Like

Comments are closed.